JCULSS Contract Law Junior Moot

In 2017, the JCULSS established a mooting competition for students in their first and second year, so they have the chance to have a go at mooting before they need to do so for a grade. The moot is run in second semester, and is open to all students in their first or second year of study who have completed at least one semester of contract law.

Watch this space for dates and details.

Sir george Kniepp inter-campus mooting competition

The Sir George Kneipp Inter-Campus Moot is run annually by the College of Business, Law & Governance, pitting Townsville against Cairns in questions of torts and criminal law. Heats are run on each campus, and the victors compete in the grand final, which is held in Townsville and Cairns alternately. The final is video conferenced to home campus of the away team.

This is a fantastic opportunity for networking, as it is judged and attended by members of the judiciary and local practitioners. The names of the winning team are engraved on the trophy, which resides in the law school, and they receive a prize of $700. The runner up team receives a prize of $300.

Details are typically emailed to students by the law school in approximately September-October. This page will be updated as more information comes in.

michael kirby contract law moot competition

The Annual Michael Kirby Contract Law Moot Competition is hosted by Victoria Law School in the College of Law and Justice at Victoria University (VU).

This four-day annual competition is open to teams across Australia. It is the largest moot court competition in Australia, and has been running since 2011. Winners of this competition win prize money and usually go on to compete in international mooting competitions.

More details on the Kirby Moot may be found here.

Sir Harry Gibbs constitutional law moot

Melbourne University Law Students’ Society (MULSS), in collaboration with the Australian Association of Constitutional Law (AACL) and the Australian Government Solicitor (AGS), will be hosting the 2017 Sir Harry Gibbs Constitutional Law Moot. This high calibre moot brings together Australia’s best constitutional law mooters to compete in Melbourne.

The competition is structured as a four moot round-robin, followed by three knockout finals rounds. There will be a $1500 prize for the winning team, and a $500 prize for the second placed team. There will also be a cocktail party and a gala dinner for all competitors.

All moots, other than the Grand Final, will be held at Melbourne Law School. The Grand Final will be hosted at the High Court in Melbourne, presided over by The Honourable Justice Geoffrey Nettle, The Honourable Michelle Gordon and The Honourable Stephen McLeish.

The competition dates this year are Saturday 23, Sunday 24, and Monday 25 September.

Registration for 2017 is now closed.

For more details, visit the MULSS website.

Philip c. Jessup international law moot court competition

The 2017-2018 season marks the 59th year of the Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition. Jessup is the world’s largest moot court competition, with participants from over 645 law schools in 95 countries. The Competition is a simulation of a fictional dispute between countries before the International Court of Justice, the judicial organ of the United Nations. One team is allowed to participate from every eligible school. Teams prepare oral and written pleadings arguing both the applicant and respondent positions of the case.

More details may be found at the International Law Students Association website.